Steve Deace on Ted Cruz's Endorsing DJT

Source: Steve Deace | September 24, 2016 | Steve Deace

Some thoughts the morning after.

The toughest part about what I do for a living is I have to constantly make a choice between being a shill or being honest. This business leaves you little room in between (it does love its flawed, binary choices after all), and isn’t much for distinctions.

Yet, I keep trying to draw them anyway, thus ticking off nearly everybody in the process.

This becomes particularly problematic when you develop relationships with people. Which is unavoidable unless you’re Vulcan, and then even in that case Spock made friends after a 5-year mission on the Enterprise. However, relationships are complicated. For they both cloud things and provide clarity simultaneously. On the one hand, they allow you to know more than the average person does because of the access. But they also cause you to project on the other, because you see what you want to see more so than what actually is.

Here’s what that means in the context of Cruz’s decision to endorse Trump yesterday.

I believe it’s a colossal political mistake. I believe it could be the worst miscalculation I’ve ever seen. I think it greatly diminishes the odds he’ll ever be president. I don’t take back a word of what I wrote for Conservative Review yesterday, even after sleeping on it. If anything, the fallout yesterday through last night was worse than I had feared. At this point, if there’s another Iowa Caucus in 2020, Cruz will need to perform triage on his organization.

But Ted Cruz is still my friend.

Last fall, when I made perhaps the biggest blunder I’ve ever committed (which is saying something) with my ridiculous comments regarding Carly Fiorina’s anatomy, Fox News and Ted’s other political enemies drove the story into the ground in an effort to use me to damage him. I told him while this was going down to throw me under the bus, because I definitely deserved it.