Jonah Goldberg: Perle of Wisdom on North Korea

Source: National Review | August 9, 2017 | Jonah Goldberg

Back in 1994, I was a young producer on a new PBS program called “Think Tank with Ben Wattenberg.” One of our first shows was “Defusing the North Korean Bomb” and one of our guests was Richard “Prince of Darkness” Perle. We kind of stacked the deck against Richard, pitting him against three people who came from the “there’s always time for more talk” school of nuclear proliferation. He was more than up to the job. And his remarks stuck with me ever since.

Perle made two arguments. First, that we should look to the Israeli precedent.

Mr. Perle: In 1981, the Israeli air force attacked and destroyed a reactor that was about to come on line near Baghdad. It was a breathtaking display of bombing accuracy. They destroyed the reactor and did no damage beyond the reactor site itself.

The North Koreans have a reprocessing plant at Yong Byong. We know exactly where it is.

Mr. Wattenberg: But they also have a million men 20 miles away from Seoul, and boom, in they go, and you are talking about a mass conflagration.

Mr. Perle: The question is, would the surgical destruction of that reprocessing facility lead to a North Korean invasion in South Korea, or wouldn’t it? And I don’t think we know the answer.

I think he was probably right about that. But I can totally understand why President Clinton found the risk of an all-out war so unappealing. Which brings me to Perle’s second argument. Ben asked Leonard Spector from the Carnegie Endowment if Perle was “being too tough.” Spector replied that he thought Perle was ready to launch a strike tomorrow. To which Perle replied.