EU set to ban American travelers when borders reopen due to COVID-19 spikes: report

Source: The Hill | June 26, 2020 | Brooke Seipel

The European Union is set to ban most American travelers from entering when the bloc reopens next week, with the U.S. among countries deemed too risky over its recent spike in COVID-19 cases, The New York Times reports.

The United States’s exclusion from a list of countries whose citizens are allowed to enter the EU comes as numerous states have reported surging numbers of coronavirus cases in recent weeks, with several states seeing all-time-highs in COVID-19 diagnoses and deaths.

The other countries included on the unsafe list include: Russia, Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, Andorra, San Marino, Monaco and the Vatican.

The decision comes as the EU is set to lift its lockdown July 1.


Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Discussion
  •  Consistent #40554

     Consistent #40564

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.